New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions - NM Paid Sick Leave Webinar
Law for paid sick leave goes into effect July 2022, employers are encouraged to attend NMDWS information webinar
May 4th, 2022, Albuquerque – New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (NMDWS) is hosting virtual informational webinars throughout the months of May and June to assist employers in preparing their business to be compliant with the Healthy Workplaces Act (HWA), New Mexico’s new paid sick leave law taking effect July 1, 2022.
The HWA requires private employers in New Mexico, regardless of size, to provide all employees with one hour of paid sick leave per 30 hours worked. Governor Lujan Grisham signed legislation to give paid leave to New Mexico workers who should never have to choose between their health and their livelihood.
New Mexico is one of 15 states who have a paid leave law, with New Mexico being one of the most generous providing up to 64 hours of accrued leave. Employees may use the leave for various reasons listed in the Act including illnesses, injuries, family medical appointments, and absences due to domestic abuse and assault.
The webinars will introduce employers to the law, discuss what businesses can do now to ensure they will be compliant with the law on July 1, 2022, and provide ample opportunity to ask questions of NMDWS Labor Relations Division subject matter experts.